Governor Wolf Announces Tax Credits and PennHOMES Funding for Affordable Multifamily Developments in Pennsylvania

Harrisburg, PA – Governor Tom Wolf today announced awards of $40.3 million in tax credits and $5.9 million in PennHOMES funding for the construction of 39 affordable multifamily housing developments located throughout Pennsylvania. The tax credits are administered by the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency and were approved by its board.

The tax credits awarded to developers will be used to attract more than $407 million of investment funding for building, and rehabilitating, multifamily housing offering affordable rents.

“This tax credit program touches many lives by making affordable housing available through a powerful partnership between the public and private sectors,” said Governor Wolf. “Pennsylvania communities win because the program makes possible the construction of housing for seniors, veterans and others that wouldn’t be possible otherwise.”
When completed, the developments receiving funding today will preserve and create an additional 1,875 rental housing units for Pennsylvania residents.

“The funding available through tax credits is in such high demand that every year we are only able to support about a third of the developments that apply,” said PHFA Executive Director and CEO Brian A. Hudson Sr. “This demonstrates not only the demand for more affordable housing but also the strong private sector interest in this program.”

One proposal receiving tax credits today was selected by a jury of affordable housing professionals for a funding award under the “Innovation in Design” category. Morning Crossing, located in Pittsburgh, is being developed by a.m. Rodriguez Associates, Inc., and will consist of the historic rehabilitation and new construction of 46 affordable units for seniors at the former Morningside Elementary School.

This proposal will provide an inter-generational community development through the co-location of the Morningside Community Center at the site. For the seniors living there, age 62 and over, significant resources and programming will target their physical, mental, social and recreational needs. Additionally, the adaptive re-use of the building will follow Passive House design, plus the energy usage of both the residential and commercial components of the building will be monitored to ensure efficiency.

The 39 multifamily housing proposals that are being awarded tax credits can be viewed below.

MEDIA CONTACTS:
Jeff Sheridan, Governor’s Office, – 717.783.1116
Scott Elliott, PHFA – 717.649. 6522, selliott@phfa.org

 

Development Name
Applicant, Contact Name, Email, Phone
Total Units
PennHOMES Amount
Tax Credit Amount
Morningside Crossing
1802 Jancey Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
a.m. Rodriguez Associates, Inc.
Victor Rodriguez 412-231-3621
v.rodriguez@cmshousing.com
46 . $1,195,048
Miller Street Apartments
318 Miller Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Miller Street Apartments
318 Miller Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219 Bridging the Gap Development LLC
Derrick Tillman 412-583-1447
dtillman@btgdevelopment.net
36 . $999,866
Oakland Affordable Living
2561 Allequippa Street
2528-2544 Allequippa Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Oakland Planning and Development Corporation
Wanda E. Wilson 412-621-7863
wwilson@opdc.org
49 . $1,184,405
Squirrel Hill Gateway Apartments
2607 Murray Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15217
ACTION-Housing, Inc.
Lena Andrews 412-281-2102
landrews@actionhousing.org
33 . $1,117,171
Retirement Residence of Glassport
219 Ohio Avenue
Glassport, PA 15045
a.m. Rodriguez Associates, Inc.
Victor Rodriguez 412-231-3621
v.rodriguez@cmshousing.com
55 . $1,200,000
Forest Hills Veterans Housing
1844 Ardmore Boulevard
Forest Hills, PA 15221
ACTION-Housing, Inc.
Lena Andrews 412-281-2102
landrews@actionhousing.org
41 . $1,181,480
Mt. Lebanon Senior Housing
2904 Castlegate Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15243
Three Rivers Communities, Inc.
Frank Aggazio 412-355-8940
franka@achsng.com
60 . $1,193,199
River Run Meadows Apts.
4289 Main Street
Birdsboro, PA 19508-8355
HDC Mid-Atlantic
Ian Rawhauser 717-291-1911
irawhauser@hdcweb.com
58 . $1,133,350
Roxbury Place
1303 Franklin Street
Johnstown, PA 15905
Buckeye Community Hope Foundation
David Petroni 614-508-6495
dpetroni@buckeyehope.org
43 . $1,048,699
Lehigh Coal and Navigation
One Broadway
Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2025
United Neighborhood Community Development Corp.
Michael Hanley 570-346-0759
mhanley@uncnepa.org
27 . $423,916
Pleasant Pointe
1500 Trout Road
State College, PA
PDG IV, LLC
Ara Kervandjian 814-272-2690
arak@pdg-llc.com
48 $1,007,122 $1,197,079
Westminster Place at Windy
Hill Village II
245 Dogwood Drive
Phillipsburg, PA 16866
Presbyterian Senior Living
Bill Koons 717-502-8878
wkoons@psl.org
48 . $759,404
SteelTown Village
730 Wheatland Street
Phoenixville, PA 19460
Petra Community Housing
Steve Kambic 484-933-4953
Steve.kambic@petrach.org
48 . $1,000,962
Red Clay Manor
South Mill Road
Kennett Square, PA 19348
Delaware Valley Development Company
Glenn Worgan 302-235-2500
gworgan@dvdc.com
60 . $1,192,193
LaSalle Blueprint Neighborhood
Scattered Sites
Borough of Berwick, PA
Columbia County Housing Corporation
Rich Kisner 570-784-9373
rkisner@columbiacountyhousing.com
24 $2,044,530 $763,461
Evans Square
Line and North 5th Streets
Conneaut Lake, PA 16316
Hudson Asset Advisors, LP
Tyler M. Hudson 724-981-1204
thudson@hudsoncompanies.net
40 $450,000 $1,011,135
Carlisle Townhomes
515 N. College Street
Carlisle, PA 17013
PIHRL/Housing Authority of Cumberland County
Kevin Brown 216-453-5775
Kbrown@pirhl.com
52 . $1,182,315
The HUB Veterans Housing
Muench and Fulton Streets
Harrisburg, PA
TLC Work-Based Training Programs, Inc. /
Christian Recovery Aftercare Ministries
Tarik Casteel 717-565-9343
trcasteel38@gmail.com
20 . $473,378
Kinder Park Redevelopment Ph 3
Constitution Ave. & Bullen Ln.
Woodlyn, PA 19094
Kinder Park Housing
Ryan Bailey 267-386-8677
rbailey@pennrose.com
56 . $1,172,034
Villa Maria 2
825 West 8th Street
Erie, PA 16502-1281
Villa Maria 2 Preservation, LP
Charles Scalise 814-453-3333
cscalise@hands-erie.org
30 . $336,411
Parade Street Commons East
19th and 20th Streets
Erie, PA 16504
GMA Development Group, LLC
Donald Crenshaw 814-898-4032
dcrenshaw@zacassociates.org
40 . $1,128,020
White Swan Apartments
117 West Main Street
Uniontown, PA 15401-3340
White Swan
Jennifer Hodge 724-434-2105
jhodge@faycha.org
47 . $1,199,782
Academy II
200 Academy Street
Moscow, PA 18444
PPS Management LLC
Mark Paradise 570-383-0259
mark.scandale@comcast.net
48 $750,000 $1,072,795
The Elms
Elmwood Avenue
Landisville, PA 17538
MBI Development Company, Inc.
John Randolph 302-547-4656
jrandolph@ingerman.com
60 . $1,196,677
Neshannock Woods
601 Cambridge Street
New Castle, PA 16105
National Church Residences
Eric Walker 614-273-3734
Ewalker@nationalchurchresidences.org
81 . $776,021
Muncy Greene
500 John Brady Blvd.
Muncy, PA 17756
The Woda Group
Andrew Cohen 614-396-0009
acohen@wodagroup.com
60 . $1,197,565
North Hills Manor
300 Linden Avenue
Glenside, PA 19038
NHM Housing LP
Mark Dambly 267-386-8666
mdambly@pennrose.com
50 . $1,198,000
Crossroads
Route 100 & Moyer
Pottstown, PA 19464
Delaware Valley Development Company
Glenn Worgan 302-235-2500
gworgan@dvdc.com
49 . $1,200,000
Montgomery Park Senior Ph 1
1301 Powell Street
Norristown, PA 19401
Elon Group, Ltd.
Francis Vargas 215-884-0500
Fvargas@altmanco.com
50 $750,000 $1,194,633
Witherspoon Senior Apartments
2050 S. 58th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19143
Philadelphia Presbyterian Homes & Services for the Aging
Vidhi Anderson 610-260-1101
vidhi.anderson@presbyinspiredlife.org
60 . $1,200,000
Anthony Wayne Senior Phase II
1701 S. 28th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Elon Group, Ltd.
Francis Vargas 215-884-0500
fvargas@altmanco.com
45 . $1,185,889
Edison 64 Veterans Community
700 W. Somerset Street
Philadelphia, PA 19133
Orens Brothers, Inc.
Scott Orens 215-222-4412
scott@orensbrothers.com
66 . $1,152,609
WPRE IV
Scattered Sites
Philadelphia, PA 19104
WPRE IV, LLC
George Bantel 215-222-8110
gbantel@wpre.com
60 . $1,183,778
APM Preservation
Scattered Sites
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Asociacion Puertorriquenos en Marcha, Inc.
Rose Gray 267-296-7305
rose.gray@apmphila.org
80 . $1,200,000
Cantrell Place
Scattered Sites
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia Presbyterian Homes & Services for the Aging
Vidhi Anderson 610-260-1101
vidhi.anderson@presbyinspiredlife.org
61 . $1,200,000
Strawberry Mansion Apartments
Scattered Sites
Philadelphia, PA 19121
Philadelphia Housing Authority
Michael Johns 215-684-4147
Michael.Johns@pha.phila.gov
55 . $1,183,694
Haddington III Preservation Initiative
Scattered Sites
Philadelphia, PA
Mission First Housing Development Corporation
Chip Darling 215-557-8414
cdarling@missionfirsthousing.org
48 . $995,711
Cherry Street Commons
26 S. Mahanoy Street and
26 East Frack Street
Frackville, PA 17931
Par King, Inc.
Michael O’Connor 570-874-3300
michaelj@oconnorlaw.com
17 $921,308 $387,383
Washington Trust Apartments
30 East Beau Street
Washington, PA 15301
Trek Development Group, Inc.
Trey Barbour 412-688-7200
tbarbour@trekdevelopment.com
24 . $689,232
Totals 1,875 $5,922,960 $40,307,295

Like Governor Tom Wolf on Facebook: Facebook.com/GovernorWolf