First Lady Frances Wolf Announces 2018 Governor’s Awards for the Arts to be Held in Scranton

March 08, 2018

Scranton, PA – First Lady Frances Wolf today announced that the 2018 Governor’s Awards for the Arts will be held August 8 at the Scranton Cultural Center in downtown Scranton. This will be the first time the state arts event has been held in Scranton.

“Scranton, and its neighboring cities and towns, stand as a benchmark for what can be nurtured and accomplished amid an energetic and tightly-woven community,” said First Lady Wolf. “It is this, coupled with the NEPA region’s rich collection of arts and cultural organizations, that make Scranton a wonderful place to host the Governor’s Awards.”

The awards recognize artistic accomplishment in four award categories: Distinguished Arts, Patron, Artist of the Year (the Hazlett Memorial Award), and Arts Leadership and Service.

The Governor’s Awards for the Arts originated in 1980. Since 1996, the ceremony has been held in a different city across the commonwealth each year, allowing multiple regions of the state to share in this celebration of the arts and showcase their unique cultural assets.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Arts Award include Marian Anderson, Andrew Wyeth, James Michener, Jennifer Higdon, Fred Rogers, M. Night Shyamalan, Marilyn Horne, Lang Lang, August Wilson, Rob Marshall, Jeff Koons, and Michael Keaton. There have been more than 180 honorees to date.

The 2018 award recipients will be announced this summer and posted on the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts’ website ( Private contributions support the ceremony, reception, award objects, and related expenses.

The Governor’s Awards for the Arts are administered by the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, a state agency under the Office of the Governor. The Council’s mission is to foster the excellence, diversity, and vitality of the arts in Pennsylvania, and to broaden the availability and appreciation of those arts throughout the state.

SHARE Email Facebook Twitter