Gov. Wolf Announces Juvenile Justice Task Force Members

January 17, 2020

Governor Tom Wolf announced the members of the Pennsylvania Juvenile Justice Task Force. The bipartisan and interbranch Task Force, launched last month by Gov. Wolf and legislative leaders and justices, will deliver a report with data-driven findings and policy recommendations to strengthen Pennsylvania’s juvenile justice system to leaders by Nov. 30.

“The members of the Task Force were selected for their expertise in various areas surrounding the juvenile justice system, including youth members who bring a unique perspective and experience to this important topic,” Gov. Wolf said.

The Task Force is co-chaired by Sen. Lisa Baker, Sen. Jay Costa, Rep. Tarah Toohill, and Rep. Mike Zabel.

Members include:

Appointed by Governor Wolf:

  • James Anderson, Former Executive Director (retired), Juvenile Court Judges’ Commission
  • Andrew Barnes, Executive Deputy Secretary of Policy and Planning, Office of Governor Tom Wolf
  • Kevin Bethel, Special Adviser for School Safety, School District of Philadelphia
  • Megan Black, Assistant District Attorney, Allegheny County
  • Quimon Broady, Youth Member
  • Russell Carlino, Chief Probation Officer, Juvenile Probation Department, Allegheny County
  • Dominick DiSalvo, Senior Director of Clinical Services, KidsPeace
  • Cynthia Figueroa, Deputy Mayor, Office of Children and Families, City of Philadelphia
  • Steven Guccini, Commissioner, Pike County
  • Helen Gym, Councilwoman At-Large, Philadelphia City Council
  • Dan Jurman, Executive Director, Office of Advocacy and Reform
  • Haundray Muir, Youth Member
  • Michael Pennington, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency
  • Tara Piechowicz, Deputy Secretary of Policy and Planning, Office of Governor Tom Wolf
  • Jonathan Rubin, Deputy Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Children, Youth, and Families
  • Tiffany Sizemore, Assistant Professor of Clinical Legal Education, Duquesne University School of Law
  • Richard Steele, Executive Director, Juvenile Court Judges’ Commission
  • Matthew Stem, Deputy Secretary, Office of Elementary and Secondary Education, Pennsylvania Department of Education
  • Scott Talley, Acting Director, Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Bureau of Children’s Behavioral Health Services
  • Joseph Werner, School Social Worker, Pennridge School District

Appointed by the Legislature:

  • Sen. Lisa Baker, Senate District 20
  • Sen. Scott Martin, Senate District 13
  • Sen. Jay Costa, Senate District 43
  • Sen. Anthony H Williams, Senate District 8
  • Rep. Karen Boback, House District 117
  • Rep. Tara Toohil, House District 116
  • Rep. Kristine Howard, House District 167
  • Rep. Mike Zabel, House District 163

Appointed by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts:

  • Judge Douglas Reichley, Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas
  • Judge Kim Berkeley Clark, 5th Judicial District

Over the next year, the group will assess the state’s system and review data from court and state agencies, gather input from diverse stakeholders, and examine how current practices can better align with research about what works best to improve youth outcomes.

“This task force is the next important step toward protecting vulnerable young Pennsylvanians and I look forward to its thorough review of our juvenile justice system with the goal of making lasting change that ensures every young Pennsylvanian is getting the support needed to grow into a successful adult,” said Gov. Wolf.

SHARE Email Facebook Twitter