Governor Wolf Announces $2.2 Million in Teacher in the Workplace Grants to Connect Schools and Local Employers

January 06, 2020

Governor Tom Wolf today announced $2.2 million in Teacher in the Workplace grants have been awarded to 92 local education agencies (LEA) to enable teachers to visit local employers and learn the skills and industry trends to enhance their classroom instruction, student learning, and career readiness. Each LEA will receive a $25,000 Targeted Grant through the Department of Education (PDE).

“It’s critical that we connect our schools to local businesses so we can prepare students with the skills they need for in-demand jobs,” said Governor Wolf. “By connecting directly with employers, teachers can learn first-hand about the skills and industry trends that will enhance their classroom instruction, student learning, and career readiness.”

Building on the success of the program, the governor proposed to double Teacher in the Workforce grant funding to $5 million, which he signed into law in June. Grants are available through PDE and the Department of Labor and Industry (L&I). The L&I grants will be announced soon.

“Local business leaders know what skills are needed for their employees to be successful in the workplace, so they can provide valuable insight to school administrators and teachers,” said Secretary of Education Pedro A. Rivera. “The Teacher in the Workplace program enables educators to participate in real-world, employer-based experiences that they can use to inform classroom instruction and prepare students for career, college and community success.”

Award recipients include:
Abington SD
Antonia Pantoja Community Charter School
Armstrong SD
ASPIRA Bilingual Cyber Charter School
Avonworth SD
Beaver Area SD
Blackhawk SD
Boyertown Area SD
Bradford Area SD
Bucks County IU 22
Cambria Heights SD
Catasauqua Area SD
Centennial SD
Central Cambria SD
Chester Community CS
Cocalico SD
Columbia Borough SD
Conewago Valley SD
Conneaut SD
Crawford Central SD
Crestwood SD
Daniel Boone Area SD
Deer Lakes SD
Elizabethtown Area SD
Ephrata Area SD
Erie City SD
Eugenio Maria De Hostos CS
Fairview SD
Fell CS
Forest Area SD
Franklin Regional SD
Freedom Area SD
Freeport Area SD
Governor Mifflin SD
Greater Johnstown SD
Greater Nanticoke Area SD
Hanover Area SD
Harbor Creek SD
Hempfield Area SD
Hollidaysburg Area SD
Hopewell Area SD
Intermediate Unit 1
John B Stetson Charter School
Johnsonburg Area SD
Juniata County SD
Lancaster SD
Laurel Highlands SD
Laurel SD
Mohawk Area SD
Montrose Area SD
Moshannon Valley
New Castle Area SD
North Clarion County SD
Northeastern York SD
Northern Lehigh SD
Northwest Area SD
Olney Charter High School
Oswayo Valley SD
Otto-Eldred SD
Palisades SD
Penn Cambria SD
Penncrest SD
Perseus House CS of Excellence
Pittston Area SD
Propel CS-Homestead
Purchase Line SD
Redbank Valley SD
Ridgway Area SD
Ringgold SD
Riverside Beaver County SD
Riverview IU 6
Riverview SD
Saint Marys Area SD
Salisbury Township SD
Schuylkill IU 29
Seneca Valley SD
Sharon City SD
Southern Huntingdon County SD
Spring Cove SD
Trinity Area SD
Tunkhannock Area SD
Twin Valley SD
Union City Area SD
Union SD
United SD
Valley Grove SD
Wallenpaupack Area SD
Waynesboro Area SD
West Middlesex Area SD
West Mifflin Area SD
Western Beaver County SD
Westmoreland IU 7

The Teacher in the Workforce grants from PDE are funded through federal money made available through Title II, Part A, of the Every Student Succeeds Act and from L&I through the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act. Eligible applicants include local education entities, businesses and chambers of commerce, labor organizations, postsecondary institutions, community-based organizations, public libraries, trade associations, and economic development entities.

SHARE Email Facebook Twitter