Governor Wolf Appoints 33 Members to the Governor’s Advisory Commission on Latino Affairs

January 10, 2020

Governor Tom Wolf announced today that 15 new commissioners and 18 returning commissioners of the Governor’s Advisory Commission on Latino Affairs were sworn in during a ceremony at the state Capitol.

“Pennsylvania is built on a foundation of inclusion and diversity and the Latino community is an important part of our commonwealth’s history and our future,” said Governor Wolf. “I commend all of the members of my Latino Affairs Commission for their dedication and commitment. There is a tremendous need to hear from Latinos on everything from healthcare and education to economic development and the census, and I look forward to working with the commissioners to create a Pennsylvania where everyone can thrive.

Featured speakers at the ceremony included Department of Aging Secretary Robert Torres, Department of Education Secretary Pedro Rivera and State Representative Danilo Burgos.

“We will continue to work with cabinet members, stakeholders, and local, state and federal officials as a united front to advocate for the Latino community across the commonwealth,” said Luz B. Colón, GACLA executive director. “The governor believes in bridging the gap to help increase accessibility to improve lives for all Latinos in Pennsylvania, and I’m extremely proud to work for this administration that believes in equality.”

The Governor’s Advisory Commission on Latino Affairs (GACLA) was created by Executive Order and consists of volunteer members who have proficiently served Pennsylvania’s fastest growing Latino community since 1971. GACLA’s mission is to advise the governor on policies and legislation that impact Latino communities and to ensure that Pennsylvania’s Latinos are given the opportunity to thrive in community development, education, equal rights and equal opportunities, workforce, health and social services in Pennsylvania.

The GACLA members include:

New Appointees:
Nelly Jiménez-Arévalo, Chester
Hon. Jaime L. Arroyo, Lancaster
Emilio A. Buitrago, Delaware
Rev. Bonnie Camarda, Philadelphia
Thaís Vázquez-Carrero, York
Ida L. Castro, J.D., M.A., Lackawanna
Diana P. Cortes, Esq., Philadelphia
Maria L. Delgado, Lawrence
Jimmy Duran, Philadelphia
Jonathan Encarnación, Berks
Priscilla E. Jimenez Esq., Philadelphia
Quetcy M. Lozada, Philadelphia
Adrián Rivera-Reyes, Ph. D., Philadelphia
Monica A. Ruiz, M.S.W., Allegheny
Hon. Cornell Wilson, Lebanon

Returning Commissioners:
Francisco Torres-Aranda, Luzerne
Vanessa R. Belen, Erie
Mary S. Colón, Lehigh
Sonny Concepción, Erie
Iris M. Sanchez-Cintrón, Northampton
Joanna Otero-Cruz, Philadelphia
Carol Obando-Derstine, Lehigh
Maria Teresa Donate, Northampton
George Fernandez, Dauphin
Isamac Torres-Figueroa, Berks
Delma Rivera- Lytle, York
Amaris Hernandez-Padgett, Philadelphia
Maritza Padua, Montgomery
Natalia Ortiz, MD, Philadelphia
Adriana Rivera M.S.L., Philadelphia
Damary M. Bonilla Rodriquez, Ed. D, Pike
Jacqueline V. Rocco, M.Ed., M.A., Montgomery
Marisol Torres, Berks

SHARE Email Facebook Twitter