More than 12 million doses of COVID vaccine have been administered in PA. All adults and adolescents age 12-17 are eligible for vaccination. Learn more.

More than 10 million doses of COVID vaccine have been administered in PA. All adults and adolescents age 12-17 are eligible for vaccination starting April 13. Learn more.

Governor Wolf Names Seven New Members to Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs

December 13, 2017

Harrisburg, PA – Governor Tom Wolf today announced the appointment of seven civic, labor, and community leaders to serve on the Governor’s Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs. The new commissioners, along with 16 commissioners reappointed to a second term, were sworn in by Acting Secretary of State Robert Torres in the Capitol Reception Room.

“The Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community today still faces remarkable challenges in accessing equitable education, language access for government services, civil rights protections, and capital to create and expand small businesses, which is why it’s so important to have a strong statewide advocacy arm in my Commission for Asian Pacific American Affairs,” Gov. Wolf said.

“This Commission has worked tirelessly over the past two years to represent the best interests of our diverse AAPI communities, and with the addition of these five new members who are equally as passionate and dedicated, we will work together to ensure that AAPIs have access to state resources and that their rights are protected.

“Now more than ever, it is critically important for our diverse AAPI communities to be active and engaged, to tell our stories to policymakers so they have a better understanding of the incredible diversity within our community in addition to the needs of our AAPI communities as they write policy that will affect us,” said Commission Chair Bibhuti Aryal.

“The Governor’s Advisory Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs looks forward to continuing to work with Governor Wolf and other policymakers on behalf of the diverse AAPI communities of Pennsylvania.”

The Governor’s Advisory Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs, which was created by Executive Order and consists of volunteer members, is responsible for advising the governor on policies, procedures, legislation, and regulations that affect the AAPI communities; develop, review and recommend to the governor policies in the area of health and human services, housing, education, employment, business formation and other relevant areas; provide appropriate assistance and advice to state agencies, including the Pennsylvania Minority Business Development Authority, and work with the Bureau of Workforce Planning, Development, and Equal Employment Opportunity within the Office of Human Resources and Management in the Governor’s Office of Administration to strengthen the enforcement of the commonwealth’s anti-discriminatory hiring, retention and promotion policies; serves as a liaison to federal, state, and local agencies to ensure that programs affecting AAPIs are effectively utilized and promoted; serve as a resource for community groups and provide forums for developing strategies and programs that will expand and enhance the civic, social, educational, cultural, and economic status of AAPI communities; identify programs, scholarships, mentoring programs, sources of funding or other resources for the benefit and advancement of AAPIs; and promote the cultural arts of the AAPI communities throughout the commonwealth.

Below is a full list of the newly appointed members of the Governor’s Advisory Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs:

New Appointees

  • Abbas Badani (Centre County)
  • Niken Astari Carpenter (Erie County)
  • Dr. Anupama Jain (Allegheny County)
  • Wasiullah Mohamed (Allegheny County)
  • Alka Patel (Allegheny County)
  • Padam Rizal (Dauphin County)
  • Dr. Anjali Sahay (Erie County)


  • Bibhuti Aryal (Allegheny County)
  • Brad Baldia (Philadelphia County)
  • Rob Buscher (Philadelphia County)
  • Dr. A. Suresh Canagarajah (Centre County)
  • Antonia Domingo, Esq. (Allegheny County)
  • Dr. Shuhua Fan (Lackawanna County)
  • Anuj Gupta, Esq. (Philadelphia County)
  • Naimah Hares (Philadelphia County)
  • Amy J. Hever (Chester County)
  • Dr. Fariha I. Khan (Delaware County)
  • Pearl Kim, Esq. (Delaware County)
  • Rep. Patty Kim (Dauphin County)
  • Dr. Helene K. Lee (Cumberland County)
  • Thomas S. Lee, Esq. (Dauphin County)
  • Marian M. Lien (Allegheny County)
  • Dr. Sue Mukherjee (Cumberland County)
  • Richard Tsai Ting (Allegheny County)
  • Hani White (Philadelphia County)
  • Carol Wong (Philadelphia County)
  • Kay Kyungsun Yu, Esq. (Philadelphia County)
  • Wen Qin Zhang (Cumberland County)

For more information on the Governor’s Advisory Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs, contact or 717.787.5825

SHARE Email Facebook Twitter

Sign up for Governor Wolf's newsletter.

Sign up for Governor Wolf's newsletter.